oeoo in Uganda

In spring 2022, an oeoo project started in Kampala, the capital of Uganda, to rid Lake Victoria of plastic waste.

Cleaning up Lake Victoria

Kampala is the capital of Uganda – located on Lake Victoria. Around 30 million people live on the lake, which is the third largest in the world in terms of area, about the size of Bavaria. The lake provides water, it supplies fish and serves as a transport route. But unfortunately, Lake Victoria is threatened by water pollution, plastic waste and other causes, such as the excessive spread of water hyacinths. 
Together with our local partners, the Uganda Junior Rangers, we are launching a new project in Kampala. Their stated goal is to rid Lake Victoria and the Nile of pollution and to expand and improve access to sanitation for coastal communities on Lake Victoria, the Nile and other water bodies. We will support them in this effort.

We have already worked with Junior Rangers, a non-profit conservation organization that promotes environmental protection and the preservation of Uganda’s cultural heritage through volunteers, as part of the Nile Coalition and the International Solidarity Cleanup in March 2022.

Our team members in Kampala are highly motivated and have already oeoo-branded one of their boats.

In addition to collecting the garbage, they also take care of sorting it.





Please support us!

Do you like our environmental protection projects and activities? Then please support us as a member with your annual contribution or with a donation.

YES, I WANT TO HELP

Newsletter Sign up

© COPYRIGHT 2022, ONE EARTH- ONE OCEAN e.V.

oeoo in Uganda

Im Frühjahr 2022 startete ein oeoo Projekt in Kampala, der Hauptstadt von Uganda, um den Viktoriasee vom Plastikmüll zu befreien.

Den Viktoriasee aufräumen

Kampala ist die Hauptstadt von Uganda – gelegen am Viktoriasee. Rund 30 Millionen Menschen leben am See, der flächenmäßig der drittgrößte der Welt ist, etwa so groß wie Bayern. Der See spendet Wasser, er liefert Fisch und dient als Transportweg. Doch leider ist der Viktoriasee durch Wasserverschmutzung, Plastikmüll und weitere Ursachen, wie die übermäßige Ausbreitung von Wasserhyazinthen, bedroht. 
Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern vor Ort, den Uganda Junior Rangers, starten wir ein neues Projekt in Kampala. Deren erklärtes Ziel ist es, den Viktoriasee sowie den Nil von Verschmutzung zu befreien und den Zugang zu sanitären Einrichtungen für die Küstengemeinden am Viktoriasee, am Nil und an anderen Gewässern zu erweitern und verbessern. Wir werden sie dabei unterstützen.

Mit den Junior Rangers, einer gemeinnützigen Umweltschutzorganisation, die Umweltschutz und die Bewahrung des kulturellen Erbes Ugandas durch Freiwillige fördert, arbeiteten wir schon im Rahmen der Nile Coalition und dem International Solidarity Cleanup im März 2022 zusammen.

Unsere Teammitglieder in Kampala sind hochmotiviert und haben bereits eines Ihrer Boote mit dem oeoo-branding versehen.
Neben dem Sammeln des Mülls kümmern sie sich auch um die Sortierung.





Unterstützen Sie uns!

Ihnen gefallen unsere Umweltschutzprojekte und Aktionen? Dann unterstützen Sie uns bitte als Mitglied mit ihrem jährlichen Förderbeitrag oder mit einer Spende.

JA, ICH WILL HELFEN

Newsletter Anmeldung

© COPYRIGHT 2022, ONE EARTH- ONE OCEAN e.V.