Home » NEWSFLASH » Plastic waste from Battambang becomes recycled plastic

Together with the partner company SUND Holding GmbH, a plastic film manufacturer from Hamburg, oeoo brought four tonnes of plastic waste from Battambang/Cambodia to Germany. The reason: they wanted to investigate whether the quality of the collected and sorted plastic waste is still sufficient after the time in the water to produce films from recycled plastic. Only in this way could a regional circular economy be established and jobs created. Recycled plastic could be used to make new films, e.g. for refuse sacks, etc. This would give the waste a value as a raw material.

The project took almost two years. While it is apparently easy to ship plastic waste to Asia – over a million tonnes from Germany alone last year – Günther Bonin from oeoo and Sören Dede from SUND struggled with the bureaucracy in Cambodia and Germany until the material finally arrived in the port of Hamburg.

But after two years of toil and struggle, there was an unexpected punch line: the staff in Cambodia had accidentally sent the wrong plastic to Germany, not polyethylene, which could be used to make elastic films, but polypropylene. This can “only” be used to make injection moulded parts, but not films.

Eventually, two plastic recycling companies were found, EMS and LAKAPE, which first produced granulate from the oeoo plastic and finally simple injection-moulded products such as storage boxes, furniture feet and paving slabs. This more or less successfully brings this odyssey to an end.

The question of the quality of the polyethylene waste in Battambang, however, is still unresolved. But now oeoo wants to find a local laboratory in Cambodia that can test the quality. Günther Bonin said “Sören and I were the first freaks to ship waste from Asia to Germany and probably the last!”

 

 

 



Plastic waste from Battambang becomes recycled plastic

11. June 2021

Home » Aktuelles » Plastikmüll aus Battambang wird zu Recyclingkunststoff

oeoo hat gemeinsam mit der Partnerfirma SUND Holding GmbH, einem Plastikfolienhersteller aus Hamburg, vier Tonnen Plastikmüll aus Battambang/Kambodscha nach Deutschland gebracht. Der Grund: man wollte untersuchen, ob die Qualität des eingesammelten und sortierten Plastikmülls nach der Zeit im Wasser noch ausreicht, um daraus Folien aus Recyclingkunststoff herzustellen. Denn nur so könnte eine regionale Kreislaufwirtschaft aufgebaut und Arbeitsplätze geschaffen werden. Aus recyceltem Kunststoff ließen sich erneut Folien, z.B. für Müllsäcke etc. herstellen. Der Müll bekäme damit einen Wert als Rohstoff.

Das Projekt zog sich über fast zwei Jahre, denn während es ganz offenbar einfach ist, Plastikmüll nach Asien zu verschiffen – über eine Million Tonnen allein aus Deutschland im letzten Jahr – , kämpften Günther Bonin von oeoo und Sören Dede von SUND mit der Bürokratie in Kambodscha und Deutschland, bis das Material endlich im Hamburger Hafen ankam.

Doch nach zwei Jahren der Mühsal und des Kampfs gab es eine unerwartete Pointe: die Mitarbeiter in Kambodscha hatten versehentlich das falsche Plastik nach Deutschland geschickt, nicht Polyethylen, aus dem man elastische Folien herstellen könnte, sondern Polypropylen. Daraus lassen sich „nur“ Spritzgussteile herstellen, aber keine Folien.

Es fanden sich schließlich mit EMS und LAKAPE zwei Kunststoffrecyclingunternehmen, die aus dem oeoo-Plastik erst Granulat und schließlich einfache Spritzguss-Produkte wie Aufbewahrungsboxen, Möbelfüße und Gehwegplatten herstellten. Damit geht diese Odysee mehr oder weniger erfolgreich zu Ende.

Die Frage nach der Qualität des Polyethylen-Mülls in Battambang ist allerdings noch ungeklärt. Dazu will man aber nun ein Labor vor Ort in Kambodscha finden, das die Qualität testen kann. Günther Bonin meinte „Sören und ich waren die ersten Bekloppten, die Müll von Asien nach Deutschland verschifften und wahrscheinlich auch die letzten!“

 



Plastikmüll aus Battambang wird zu Recyclingkunststoff

11. Juni 2021