Home » NEWSFLASH » oeoo and VeryNile initiate environmental coalition of all Nile riparian states

The Nile Coalition, initiated by oeoo and VeryNile, plans to bring together the 10 riparian states of the Nile Basin to agree on concrete steps to protect the river from environmental problems. The coalition will work to achieve the United Nations SDG 6 (clean water and sanitation) and SDG 14 (life below water).

Launch of the Coalition:
The coalition will be launched with an event on 18 September 2021 (World Cleanup Day). The launch event will take place simultaneously in the four countries of Egypt, Uganda, Burundi and Rwanda. Each participating local initiative will officially start contributing to the cleaning and/or reforestation of the Nile on that day.

The goals of the coalition are:
– Raise awareness of environmental conservation through meaningful youth engagement and increase environmental awareness among the general public.
– Take concrete measures to prevent pollution from continuing to enter the Nile (e.g. through laws against single-use plastic and fines for pollution).
– Take concrete measures to eliminate (plastic) waste from the Nile (support local cleaning initiatives on the ground, replicate and scale up successful models, etc.).

Strategy and action plan:
The Nile Coalition will be formed between the Nile Basin countries to initiate the first concrete steps to address the problem of waste pollution in the Nile. The coalition will ensure that members unite and pool their intentions and resources for this environmental problem. The coalition of country representatives will be a driving force to put the protection of the Nile on the agenda of riparian countries, mobilise public support and promote unity and concrete action across borders and governments.

Public relations and social media:
Each participating initiative will receive uniform t-shirts, flags and banners to highlight the unity and solidarity of our new coalition and to depict the diverse environmental actions to conserve water quality. All initiatives take photos of their actions, which are mainly published on the oeoo and VeryNile social media platforms. But all participating initiatives can also share these posts and other pictures.

More initiatives are welcome to join the coalition in the future. This way we can show the international community how far we have already come in the fight for a cleaner environment.

 

Founding members of the Nile Coalition 2021:

Germany:

One Earth One Ocean

oeoo is the initiator of the coalition. The organisation is concerned with protecting the environment, focusing on water and coastal protection. The aim is to develop and implement the concept of Maritime Garbage Collection for a world without plastic waste and pollutants.

 

Egypt:

VeryNile

VeryNile is a professional initiative in Egypt that is developing a sustainable way to clean the Nile River while raising awareness about protecting our environment. It works to create an environmentally friendly environment while building cross-sector partnerships to influence the behaviour of people and businesses for a better environment.

VeryNile handles the overall coordination and organisation of the coalition as well as a cleanup around Qursayah Island near Giza to remove all visible pollution.

 

 

Uganda:

Uganda Junior Rangers

The Uganda Junior Rangers programme is a non-profit conservation organisation that promotes a culture of conservation and heritage preservation through volunteering and educational opportunities.

The Uganda Junior Rangers in Luzira and Kampala are taking care of cleaning up the lakeshore of Lake Victoria and will work with divers to remove ghost nets from the waters of the Nile.
The team consists of about 20 volunteers.

Greenwatch

Greenwatch works to ensure that every individual in Uganda knows that they have environmental rights and that these rights can be fully exercised through access to information, courts and public participation.

Greenwatch will be planting trees along the shore of Lake Victoria in Entebbe district with about 10 volunteers.

Rwanda:

Red Rocks Initiative

An NGO that aims to promote sustainable development in the Virunga Mountains region of East Africa. It supports environmental conservation and sustainable tourism initiatives driven by communities and local people.

The Red Rocks Initiative is conducting cleanups and will plant 1,000 water-friendly trees along the Mukungwa River, which flows into the Akagera .
The volunteer team is made up of 11 international volunteers and 25 local members.

Burundi:

Association Burundaise pour la protection de la Nature (ABN)

An NGO whose mission is to contribute to the conservation of nature and the sustainable use of natural resources.

ABN is taking care of the removal of water hyacinth from Lake Rweru, 230 km from Bujumbura, and will plant trees in the buffer zone.
The volunteer team in Kirundo consists of about 50 people.

 



oeoo and VeryNile initiate environmental coalition of all Nile riparian states

14. September 2021

Home » Aktuelles » oeoo und VeryNile initiieren Umwelt-Koalition aller Nil-Anrainerstaaten

 

Die von oeoo und VeryNile initiierte Nil-Koalition plant, die 10 Anrainerstaaten des Nilbeckens zusammenzubringen, um konkrete Schritte zum Schutz des Flusses vor Umweltproblemen zu vereinbaren. Die Koalition wird sich für die Verwirklichung des SDG 6 der Vereinten Nationen (sauberes Wasser und Versorgung mit sanitären Einrichtungen) sowie des SDG 14 (Leben unter Wasser) einsetzen.

Startschuss für die Koalition:
Die Koalition wird mit einer Veranstaltung am 18. September 2021 (dem World Cleanup Day) ins Leben gerufen. Die Gründungsveranstaltung wird gleichzeitig in den vier Ländern Ägypten, Uganda, Burundi und Ruanda stattfinden. Jede teilnehmende lokale Initiative wird an diesem Tag offiziell beginnen, einen Beitrag zur Reinigung und/oder Aufforstung des Nils zu leisten.

Ziele der Koalition sind:
– Schärfung des Bewusstseins für den Schutz der Umwelt durch sinnvolles Engagement der Jugend und Stärkung des Umweltbewusstseins in der breiten Öffentlichkeit.
– Ergreifung konkreter Maßnahmen, um zu verhindern, dass Verschmutzungen weiterhin in den Nil gelangen (z. B. durch Gesetze gegen Einwegplastik und Bußgelder bei Verschmutzung)
– Ergreifung konkreter Maßnahmen zur Beseitigung von (Plastik-)Abfällen aus dem Nil (Unterstützung lokaler Reinigungsinitiativen vor Ort, Nachahmung und Ausweitung erfolgreicher Modelle usw.).

Strategie und Aktionsplan:
Die Nil-Koalition wird zwischen den Ländern des Nilbeckens gebildet, um erste konkrete Schritte zur Lösung des Problems der Verschmutzung des Nils durch Abfälle zu initiieren. Die Koalition wird dafür sorgen, dass sich die Mitglieder zusammenschließen und ihre Absichten und Ressourcen für dieses Umweltproblem bündeln. Die Koalition aus Ländervertretern soll eine treibende Kraft sein, um den Schutz des Nils auf die Tagesordnung der Anrainerstaaten zu setzen, die öffentliche Unterstützung zu mobilisieren sowie Einigkeit und konkrete Maßnahmen über Grenzen und Regierungen hinweg zu fördern.

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Social Media:
Jede teilnehmende Initiative erhält einheitliche T-Shirts, Flaggen und Banner, die die Einheit und Solidarität unserer neuen Koalition unterstreichen und die verschiedenartigen Umweltaktionen zum Erhalt der Wasserqualität abbilden sollen. Alle Initiativen erstellen Fotos ihrer Aktionen, die vor allem auf den Social Media Plattformen von oeoo und VeryNile veröffentlicht werden. Aber auch alle teilnehmenden Initiativen können diese Beiträge und weitere Bilder teilen.

Gerne können sich in Zukunft weitere Initiativen der Koalition anschließen. So können wir der internationalen Gemeinschaft zeigen, wie weit wir bereits im Kampf für eine sauberere Umwelt vorangekommen sind.

 

Gründungsmitglieder der Nil-Koalition 2021:

Deutschland:

One Earth One Ocean

OEOO ist Initiator der Koalition. Die Organisation befasst sich mit dem Schutz der Umwelt und konzentriert sich dabei auf den Wasser- und Küstenschutz. Ziel ist die Entwicklung und Umsetzung des Konzepts der Maritimen Müllabfuhr für eine Welt ohne Plastikmüll und Schadstoffe.

 

Ägypten:

VeryNile

VeryNile ist eine professionelle Initiative in Ägypten, die eine nachhaltige Methode zur Reinigung des Nils entwickelt und gleichzeitig das Bewusstsein für den Schutz unserer Umwelt schärft. Sie setzt sich für die Schaffung einer umweltfreundlichen Umgebung ein und baut gleichzeitig sektorübergreifende Partnerschaften auf, um das Verhalten von Menschen und Unternehmen im Sinne einer besseren Umwelt zu beeinflussen.

VeryNile kümmert sich um die Gesamtkoordination und Organisation der Koalition sowie eines Cleanups rund um die Insel Qursayah bei Gizeh zur Beseitigung aller sichtbaren Verschmutzungen.

 

Uganda:

Uganda Junior Rangers

Das Uganda Junior Rangers-Programm ist eine gemeinnützige Umweltschutzorganisation, die durch Freiwilligenarbeit und Bildungsangebote eine Kultur des Umweltschutzes und der Bewahrung des kulturellen Erbes fördert.

Die Uganda Junior Rangers in Luzira und Kampala kümmern sich um die Säuberung des Seeufers des Viktoriasees und werden mit Tauchern Geisternetze aus dem Wasser des Nils entfernen.
Das Team umfasst etwa 20 Freiwillige.

 

Greenwatch

Greenwatch setzt sich dafür ein, dass jeder Einzelne in Uganda weiß, dass er Umweltrechte hat und dass diese Rechte durch den Zugang zu Informationen, Gerichten und die Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit in vollem Umfang wahrgenommen werden können.

Greenwatch wird mit etwa 10 Freiwilligen Bäume entlang des Ufers des Viktoriasees im Bezirk Entebbe pflanzen.

Ruanda:

Red Rocks Initiative

Eine NGO, die die nachhaltige Entwicklung in der Region der Virunga-Berge in Ostafrika fördern will. Sie unterstützt Initiativen zur Erhaltung der Umwelt und zum nachhaltigen Tourismus, die von den Gemeinden und der lokalen Bevölkerung getragen werden.

Die Red Rocks Initiative führt Cleanups durch und wird 1.000 wasserfreundliche Bäume am Mukungwa-Fluss pflanzen, der in den Akagera mündet .
Das Freiwilligen-Team setzt sich aus 11 internationalen Helfern und 25 lokalen Mitgliedern zusammen.

 

 

Burundi:

Association Burundaise pour la protection de la Nature (ABN)

Eine NGO, deren Aufgabe es ist, zur Erhaltung der Natur und zur nachhaltigen Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen beizutragen.

ABN kümmert sich um die Entfernung von Wasserhyazinthen aus dem Rweru-See, 230 km von Bujumbura entfernt, und wird Bäume in der Pufferzone pflanzen.
Das Freiwiligen-Team in Kirundo besteht aus etwa 50 Personen.



oeoo und VeryNile initiieren Umwelt-Koalition aller Nil-Anrainerstaaten

14. September 2021