THE ASSOCIATION

Goals of the Association

The environmental organization One Earth – OneOcean e.V. (OEOO) deals with the protection of the environment, in particular the water and coastal protection.

It has set itself the goal of developing and implementing a concept, as water bodies worldwide can be freed from plastic waste, but also oil and pollutants.

In the multi-stage concept of the “Maritime Waste Collection”, plastic waste is collected by special refuse collection vessels and then recycled or converted back into oil. From a ton of plastic waste, approximately 900 liters of oil could be recovered.

In addition, the association is involved in the field of oil purification, microplastics, research, education and documentation on marine littering, both nationally and internationally, in order to achieve a change in the behavior of people with regard to (plastic) waste in the medium to long term.

    99
  • Maritime waste collection

    In autumn 2016 the launch of SEEKUH, a special catamaran developed by OEOO for the collection of plastic waste, took place.

  • International Oil Purification Action in Nigeria 2017

    The Niger Delta in Nigeria is one of the most oil-rich areas in Africa, but the landscape is regularly polluted by oil spills on the production facilities and pipelines.

  • ,Microplastic Pollution Map’ in cooperation with shipping companies

    In order to contribute to the research into the medium to long-term effects of microplastics on humans and animals, OEOO is engaged in setting up a global database on the levels of pollution in the world’s oceans.

  • Database of scientific studies on water pollution

    The pollution of the water bodies by (plastic) garbage is nowadays also becoming increasingly important in science.

Founding / History

Günther Bonin, former Munich IT entrepreneur and enthusiastic sailor since his youth days, was annoyed by the ever-increasing amounts of plastic waste which he found on his sailing trips even in the most remote locations.

According to own research, plastic waste was only explored on a selective basis, and there were no technologies to recover plastic waste from the sea. He decided to let his IT company rest and deal intensively with solving this global problem.
In 2011, he founded the environmental organization One Earth – One Ocean eV, based in Munich and built up a team consisting of marine biologists and experts like Thomas Hahn, who co-ordinated the victory of the America Cup at BMW Oracle, or metal constructor Michael Lingenfelder, and other volunteers, to create concept of “marine waste collection” for the cleaning of world-wide water bodies from the plastic waste.


Meanwhile, the focus has expanded and OEOO is also working on bringing oil and chemicals out of the water.

First prototypes of the SEEHAMSTER, smaller ships for garbage collection, have been used since 2012 in inland waters and the Baltic Sea.

In June 2015 the SEEKUH was the first prototype of a large coastal seaport.

The collection of donations  and implementation lasted for three years. In  autumn 2016, launching was taking place in a shipyard in Lübeck. 2017 and 2018 the SEEKUH will now be used worldwide. In 2016 OEOO opened an office in Hamburg.

Awards

2013

One Earth – One Ocean e.V. is honored with the prestigious GreenTec Award 2013 for its “Maritime Waste Collection” concept. The GreenTec Awards are Europe’s largest environmental and economic award, in which the most innovative green products, projects and environmental technologies are awarded annually in various categories.

2016

Nomination of the SEEKUH for the Bundespreis ecodesign, the highest state award for ecological design in Germany. The jury nominated 26 projects, including the SEEKUH, from more than 350 submissions.

The award, which is presented annually by the Federal Ministry of the Environment, distinguishes innovative products, services and concepts that have an outstanding ecological quality, innovative approach and high design quality.

2017

The Deurex oil-binding cotton PURE, with which OEOO has been helping to eliminate oil contamination in Nigeria since 2015, was awarded was awarded the European Inventor Award 2017 in Venice in June 2017.

The European Patent Office awards this award every year for outstanding inventions. OEOO has been mentioned as a reference in this context.

 

Our Team

In addition to Günther Bonin, the founder of OEOO, and a core team of close-knit employees in and around Munich and in Northern Germany, there are additional members who support the work of the association in an ideal, financial and/or active way.

Dr. Rüdiger Stöhr

Microbiologist and teacher for biotechnology / biology from Kiel, member since 2012


Why join OEOO

When Günther and I were ‘gossiping into the evening sky’ above the Kiel harbor, it was immediately clear that we were swinging on a wavelength. From the first small joint ideas, projects such as “Jugend forscht”, microplastic monitoring, oil wool PURE, plastic filters, etc. emerged, and there is a very exciting association work, for which I am enthusiastic.

Area of responsibility at OEOO

As an OEOO employee, I am responsible for the microplastic project. I hold lectures, workshops and give internships on the subject of plastic in the sea. I am interested in cooperations in which the plastic problem is researched and presented in a responsible manner.

Bettina Kelm

Environmental Education Officer, since 2013 honorary member of OneEarth-OneOcean e.V.


Why join OEOO

I am a freelance journalist for travel and nature and I live in Bichl/Bavaria. In the Gulf of Panama 2010, I was shocked by how turtles had to deal with plastic waste and spontaneously wrote a comprehensive article about plastic in the sea. In 2012, I met Günther and his concept of “maritime waste collection”. From the Panama-reportage, a photo lecture about plastic waste was made.

Area of responsibility at OEOO

Since 2013, I have lectures on schools and environmental education events all over Germany (focus on Bavaria). Depending on the age of the audience, there are different lecture concepts, from primary school pupils to adults. From the pollution of the Pacific Ocean off Panama, the curve stretches over the global situation in the world’s oceans to the extent that our German waters are already heavily loaded.

More information and contact

Bernhard Herbst

60, from Wuppertal has been on board since 2016 and is responsible for sponsoring search


Why join OEOO

Bernhard knows Günther since 1975, their school days. Music and joint projects have never let the contact break. On the occasion of a class meeting the first contact with Seehamster & Co. came about. The OEOO concept convinced Bernhard so much that he decided to contribute all his strength and experience. His motto is a quote from Willi Brandt: You have to take life as it is, but you do not have to leave it!

Area of responsibility at OEOO

At OEOO, Bernhard helps to master the ever-increasing financial challenges facing the club. Sponsors, patrons and sponsors are sought, contacted, maintained and integrated for the benefit of the common goal. That is why the blonde “Viking” gets away from the new OEOO web platform that the vision of worldwide maritime garbage collection is taking shape.

Barbara Flügge

Technical editor from Hamburg, since 2013 at OEOO


Why join OEOO

When she came across OEOO Barbara had been asking herself “How do we get the garbage back out of the sea?”. The association is attractive to her because OEOO addresses the problem holistically: creating awareness, research, documentation and most important: collecting garbage from the sea and cleaning the waters.

Area of responsibility at OEOO

Barbara is the OEOO contact for the north, she does
Public relations work at events at the OEOO booth and lectures on the topics of the association. In addition, she is responsible for the supervision of the maritime litter knowledge database, and sometimes she is also involved in projects and in applications for funding.

Holger Borchert

Independent entrepreneur in Hong Kong and member since 2016. He cares about the set-up and the activities of OEOO in Asia.


Why join OEOO

In spring of 2016, I met Günter Bonin and OEOO as part of an event at GATE in Munich. After a short time, I realized that I would be working here in Hong Kong for the OEOO goals.

Area of responsibility at OEOO

I set up the Asian office of OEOO in Hong Kong and take care of all the interests of the association here in Asia. In particular, I am here for the first active use of our SEEKUH and the planned SEEELEFANTEN in the near future.

Erich Groever

61, graduated engineer (TU) food and environmental technology, owner of an engineering office for waste and environment, has been active since 2013 for OEOO.


Why join OEOO

In 2013 I had first contact with Günther in the tests of the first SEEHAMSTER. His enthusiasm immediately struck me, his vision of clean seas is convincing. The global pollution of the oceans is a basic cause, we can not even overlook the consequences. Therefore my cooperation, in order to actively counteract and find a solution.

Area of responsibility at OEOO

Environmentally sound waste management is my profession and my vocation. I add to Günther’s idea of collecting plastic waste from the sea my professional background and the aspect of further processing. My task at OEOO is to develop the most ecological, economical and economical solution for utilizing the waste of plastic material.

Frank Brodmerkel

50, communication expert from Munich, working for OEOO since 2012.


Why join OEOO

When I read about OEOO 5 years ago in the daily newspaper, I spontaneously offered Günther the support of my PR agency. Plastic waste has received great attention as one of the most pressing civilization problems in recent years. But it does not help the environment to talk about it. We must act at last!

Area of responsibility at OEOO

At OEOO, I support the association’s concerns through press and public relations, including a regular newsletter for members and interested parties. I ‘m also responsible for the OEOO web presence. It is intended to further increase the awareness of the association and to help to win new members.

Emmanuel Duru

36, from Nigeria, engineer for chemistry and environmental engineering, master of science at TU Munich, member since 2015


Why join OEOO

Emmanuel studied at the Technical University of Munich and has already gained international professional experience in connection with oil spills. He knows the situation in Nigeria and is glad to be able to do something with his know-how directly for the recultivation of his homeland.

Area of responsibility at OEOO

Emmanuel Duru is responsible for the clean-up of water bodies on site in Nigeria. Since 2015 he has been in Nigeria for OEOO several times to coordinate various cleaning projects with PURE oil binders and to win political bodies and NGOs.

Press Review

Read the latest media report about One Earth – One Ocean:

Support us!

Do you like our environmental protection projects and activities? Then please support us as a member with your annual contribution or with a donation.

YES, I WANT TO HELP

© COPYRIGHT 2017, ONE EARTH- ONE OCEAN e.V.

DER VEREIN

Ziele des Vereins

Die Umweltorganisation One Earth – OneOcean e.V. (OEOO) beschäftigt sich laut ihrer Satzung mit dem Umweltschutz, im Besonderen den Gewässer- und Küstenschutz.

Sie hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, ein Konzept zu entwickeln und umzusetzen, wie Gewässer weltweit von Plastikmüll, aber auch Öl und Schadstoffen befreit werden können.

Im mehrstufigen Konzept der „Maritimen Müllabfuhr“ wird Plastikmüll von speziellen Müllsammelschiffen gesammelt und anschließend verwertet bzw. in Öl rückverwandelt. Aus einer Tonne Plastikmüll ließen sich so ca. 900 Liter Öl rückgewinnen.

Zudem engagiert sich der Verein national und international in den Bereichen Ölreinigung, Mikroplastik sowie in Forschung, Bildung und Dokumentation zum Thema Marine Littering, um mittel- bis langfristig eine Änderung des Verhaltens der Menschen in Bezug auf (Plastik-)Müll zu erreichen.

    13
  • Maritime Müllabfuhr

    Im Herbst 2016 fand der Stapellauf der SEEKUH , eines von OEOO entwickelten Spezialkatamarans zum Sammeln von Plastikmüll, statt.

  • Internationale Öl-Aufräumaktion in Nigeria 2017

    Das Nigerdelta in Nigeria ist eines der erdölreichsten Gebiete Afrikas, doch wird die Landschaft regelmäßig durch Ölunfälle an den Förderanlagen und Pipelines stark verschmutzt.

  • ‚Microplastic Pollution Map’ in Kooperation mit Reedereie

    Um einen Beitrag zur Erforschung der mittel- bis langfristigen Auswirkungen des Mikroplastiks auf Mensch und Tier zu leisten, engagiert sich OEOO beim Aufbau einer weltweiten Datenbank zu den Verschmutzungsgraden in den Weltmeeren.

  • Datenbank mit wissenschaftlichen Studien zu dem Thema Wasserverschmutzung

    Die Verschmutzung der Gewässer durch (Plastik-)Müll findet heute zunehmend auch in der Wissenschaft Beachtung.

Gründungsstory / Historie

Günther Bonin, ehemals Münchner IT-Unternehmer und seit Jugendtagen passionierter Segler, war genervt von den immer umfangreicheren Mengen Plastikmülls, die er auf seinen Segeltörns auch an entlegensten Orten antraf.

Eigene Recherchen ergaben, dass zu Plastikmüll nur punktuell geforscht wurde und es keine Technologien gab, um Plastikmüll wieder aus dem Meer zu holen. Er beschloss, sein IT-Unternehmen ruhen zu lassen und sich intensiv mit der Lösung dieses globalen Problems zu befassen.

2011 gründete er die Umweltorganisation One Earth – One Ocean e.V. mit Sitz in München, stellte ein Expertenteam aus Meeresbiologen, dem Schiffskonstrukteur Thomas Hahn, der bei BMW Oracle das Siegerschiff des America Cup mitkonstruierte, den Metallbauer Michael Lingenfelder und weiteren freiwilligen Helfern zusammen und entwickelte gemeinsam mit seinen Mitstreitern das Konzept der „Maritimen Müllabfuhr“ für die Reinigung weltweiter Gewässer vom Plastikmüll.

 



Inzwischen hat sich der Fokus geweitet und OEOO arbeitet auch an Verfahren, Öl und Chemikalien aus dem Wasser zu holen.

Erste Prototypen des Seehamsters, kleinerer Schiffe zur Müllsammlung, kommen seit 2012 in Binnengewässern und der Ostsee zum Einsatz.

Im Juni 2015 war dann Kiellegung der Seekuh, dem ersten Prototypen eines größeren küstenseetauglichen Müllsammelschiffes.

Drei Jahre dauerte die Spendensammlung und Umsetzung, im Herbst 2016 war Stapellauf in einer Werft in Lübeck. 2017 und 2018 wird die Seekuh nun weltweit zum Einsatz kommen. 2016 eröffnete OEOO ein Büro in Hamburg.

Auszeichnungen

2013

One Earth – One Ocean e.V. wird für sein Konzept der „Maritimen Müllabfuhr“ mit dem renommierten GreenTec Award 2013 ausgezeichnet. Die GreenTec Awards sind Europas größter Umwelt- und Wirtschaftspreis, in dessen Rahmen jährlich die innovativsten grünen Produkte, Projekte und Umwelttechnologien in verschiedenen Kategorien ausgezeichnet werden.

2016

Nominierung der Seekuh für den Bundespreis ecodesign, der höchsten staatlichen Auszeichnung für ökologisches Design in Deutschland. Aus mehr als 350 Einreichungen nominierte die Jury 26 Projekte, darunter auch die SEEKUH.

Der Preis, der jährlich vom Bundesumweltministerium verliehen wird, zeichnet innovative Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Konzepte aus, die eine herausragende ökologische Qualität, einen innovativen Ansatz und hohe Designqualität besitzen.

2017

Die Ölbindewatte PURE der Firma Deurex, mit der OEOO seit 2015 in Nigeria die Ölverschmutzungen zu beseitigen hilft, wurde im Juni 2017 in Venedig mit dem Europäischen Erfinderpreis 2017 ausgezeichnet.

Diesen Preis verleiht das Europäische Patentamt jährlich für herausragende Erfindungen. OEOO wurde in diesem Zusammenhang als Referenz erwähnt.

 

Unser Team

Neben Günther Bonin, dem Gründer von OEOO, und einem Kernteam engerer Mitarbeiter in und um München und in Norddeutschland gibt es eine ganze Reihe von Mitgliedern, die die Arbeit des Vereins ideell, finanziell und/oder durch tatkräftige freiwillige Mitarbeit unterstützen.

Dr. Rüdiger Stöhr

Mikrobiologe und Lehrer für Biotechnologie / Biologie aus Kiel, Mitglied seit 2012


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO

Als Günther und ich zusammen in den Abendhimmel über dem Kieler Hafen hineinplauderten, war sofort klar, dass wir auf einer Wellenlänge schwingen. Aus den ersten kleinen gemeinsamen Ideen wurden Projekte wie Jugend forscht, Mikroplastik-Monitoring, Ölwolle PURE, Plastikfilter etc. und eine sehr spannende Vereinsarbeit, für die ich mich begeistert einsetze.

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO

Als Mitarbeiter von OEOO bin ich für das Mikroplastikprojekt verantwortlich. Ich halte Vorträge, Workshops und vergebe Praktika zum Themenkomplex Plastik im Meer. Ich bin interessiert an Kooperationen, in denen die Plastikproblematik erforscht und öffentlich verantwortungsvoll dargestellt wird.

Bettina Kelm

Referentin Umweltbildung, seit 2013 ehrenamtliches Mitglied bei OneEarth-OneOcean e.V.


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO

Ich bin freiberufliche Journalistin für Reise- und Naturreportagen und lebe in Bichl/Oberb. Im Golf von Panama 2010 war ich schockiert, wie Schildkröten mit Plastikmüll zu kämpfen hatten und schrieb spontan einen umfassenden Artikel über Plastik im Meer. 2012 lernte ich Günther und sein Konzept der „maritimen Müllabfuhr“ kennen. Aus der Panama-Reportage entstand so ein Fotovortrag zu Plastikmüll.

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO

Seit 2013 halte ich deutschlandweit (Schwerpunkt Bayern) Vorträge zum Thema an Schulen und bei Umweltbildungsveranstaltungen. Je nach Alter des Publikums gibt es unterschiedliche Vortragskonzepte, von Grundschülern bis zu Erwachsenen. Von der Vermüllung des Pazifiks vor Panama spannt sich der Bogen über die globale Situation in den Weltmeeren bis dahin, wie sehr unsere deutschen Gewässer bereits belastet sind.

Anbei zwei Poster, die über die Inhalte der Vorträge informieren:

Grundschulvortrag:

„Warum wir die Meere retten müssen“

Schulvortrag ab 5. Klasse bis zum Abitur:

„Ein Meer ertrinkt in Plastik“

Mehr Infos und Kontakt

Bernhard Herbst

60, aus Wuppertal ist seit 2016 an Bord und kümmert sich um Sponsoring


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO

Bernhard kennt Günther seit 1975, die Schulzeit, Musik und gemeinsame Projekte haben den Kontakt nie abreissen lassen. Anlässlich eines Klassentreffens kam es zum ersten Kontakt mit Seehamster & Co. Das OEOO-Konzept hat ihn so überzeugt, das Bernhard beschloss, seine ganze Kraft
und Erfahrung einzubringen. Sein Motto ist ein Zitat von Willi Brandt: Man muß das Leben nehmen, wie es ist, aber man muß es nicht so lassen!

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO

Bei OEOO hilft Bernhard, die immer größer werdenen finanziellen Herausforderungen zu meistern, die an den Verein gestellt werden. Sponsoren, Mäzene und Förderer werden von Ihm gesucht, kontaktiert, gepflegt und zum Wohle des gemeinsamen Zieles eingebunden. Deshalb erhoft der blonde „Wikinger“ sich vom neuen Webauftritt, dass die Vision der weltweiten maritimen Müllabfuhr in Bälde Gestalt annimmt.

Barbara Flügge

Technische Redakteurin aus Hamburg, seit 2013 bei OEOO


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO
Als sie auf OEOO stieß, hatte Barbara sich schon länger mit der Frage „wie kriegen wir den Müll wieder aus dem Meer?“ auseinandergesetzt. Attraktiv an dem Verein ist für sie, dass OEOO das Problem sozusagen ganzheitlich angeht: Bewußt machen, forschen, dokumentieren und als Wichtigstes: Müll aus dem Meer fischen, Gewässer reinigen.

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO 
Barbara ist im Norden Ansprechpartner, sie macht
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit auf Veranstaltungen am OEOO-Stand und hält Vorträge über die Themen des Vereins. Außerdem ist sie für die Betreuung der Wissenschaftlichen Datenbank verantwortlich und ab und zu arbeitet sie auch an Projekten und bei Förderanträgen mit.

Holger Borchert

Selbständiger Unternehmer in Hong Kong und Mitglied seit 2016. Er kümmert sich ehrenamtlich um unseren Set-Up und unsere Aktivitäten in Asien.


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO

Im Frühjahr 2016 habe ich Günter Bonin und OEOO im Rahmen eines Events im Gate in München kennengelernt. Nach kurzer Zeit war für mich klar, dass ich mich zukünftig hier in Hong Kong für die Ziele von OEOO einsetzen werde.

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO 

Ich baue das Asiatische Büro von OEOO in Hong Kong auf und kümmere mich als Verantwortlicher um alle Belange des Vereins in Asien. Insbesondere setze ich mich hier für den ersten aktiven Einsatz unserer Seekuh und den in naher Zukunft geplanten See Elefanten ein.

Erich Groever

61, Dipl. Ing (TU) Lebensmitteltechnologie und Umwelttechnik, eigenes Ing.-Büro für Abfall und Umwelt, seit 2013 für OEOO aktiv


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO

2013 hatte ich mit Günther bei den Probeläufen des ersten Seehamsters Kontakt. Sein Enthusiasmus hat mich sofort angesteckt, seine Vision von sauberen Meeren überzeugt. Die globale Verschmutzung der Meere ist ein Grundübel, die Folgen können wir noch gar nicht überschauen. Daher meine Mitarbeit, aktiv gegenzusteuern und eine Lösung zu finden.

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO

Umweltverträgliche Abfallwirtschaft ist mein Beruf und Berufung. Günthers Idee, Plastikmüll aus dem Meer einzusammeln, habe ich mit meinem fachlichen Hintergrund um den Aspekt der Weiterverarbeitung ergänzt. Meine Aufgabe bei OEOO ist es, eine möglichst ökologische, UND ökonomische Lösung zu entwickeln, den Kunststoffabfall nutzbringend zu verwerten.

Frank Brodmerkel

50, Kommunikationsexperte aus München, seit 2012 für OEOO tätig.


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO

Als ich vor 5 Jahren in der Tageszeitung über OEOO las, habe ich Günther spontan die Unterstützung meiner PR-Agentur angeboten. Plastikmüll hat als eines der drängendsten Zivilisationsprobleme in den letzten Jahren große Aufmerksamkeit erfahren. Doch nur darüber zu reden, hilft der Umwelt nicht. Es gilt, endlich zu handeln!

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO

Bei OEOO unterstütze ich das Anliegen des Vereins durch Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, auch mit einem regelmäßigen Newsletter für Mitglieder und Interessenten. Auch den neuen Webauftritt von OEOO verantworte ich. Er soll die Bekanntheit des Vereins weiter erhöhen und neue Mitglieder gewinnen helfen.

Emmanuel Duru

(36), stammt aus Nigeria, Ingenieur für Chemie und Umwelttechnik, Master of Science der TU München, Mitglied seit 2015


Warum Mitglied bei OEOO
Emmanuel hat an der TU München studiert und bereits internationale Berufserfahrung im Zusammenhang mit Ölunfällen. Er kennt die Gegebenheiten in Nigeria und freut sich, mit seinem Know-how direkt etwas für die Rekultivierung seiner Heimat tun zu können.

Aufgabenbereich bei OEOO
Für OEOO betreut Emmanuel Duru als Projektleiter die Säuberung von Gewässern vor Ort in Nigeria. Seit 2015 war er mehrmals in Nigeria, um verschiedene Reinigungsprojekte mit dem Ölbindemittel PURE zu koordinieren und politische Gremien und NGOs zu gewinnen.

Pressespiegel

Lesen Sie hier die aktuelle Medienberichterstattung über One Earth – One Ocean:

Deutsche Welle berichtet über Mikroplastik-Workshop von OEOO an Bord von OceanCollege

Die Deutsche Welle hat auf Facebook ein Video zur Abreise der OceanCollege-Crew in Holland veröffentlicht…. Weiter »

Berliner Morgenpost berichtet über das Ocean College und OEOO

Die Berliner Morgenpost berichtete in ihrer Ausgabe vom 14.10. über „Das segelnde Klassenzimmer“ des „Ocean… Weiter »

Unterstützen Sie uns!

Ihnen gefallen unsere Umweltschutzprojekte und Aktionen? Dann unterstützen Sie uns bitte als Mitglied mit ihrem jährlichen Förderbeitrag oder mit einer Spende.

JA, ICH WILL HELFEN

© COPYRIGHT 2017, ONE EARTH- ONE OCEAN e.V.